UK travelers will pay entry fees to European Union countries from 2022

Travelers from the UK, who are not residents of the European Union, are required to pay a fee to enter European Union countries from next year. Residents who are not members of the European Union must pay £ 5.89 to enter the 26 countries of the Schengen area. A new travel authorization system, the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS), due to start in 2022, will oversee security documents and travel costs for travelers.

According to Daily check-in report, ETIAS is a visa waiver system, in which people traveling to 26 countries in the Schengen area have to fill out an online form and pay € 7. Apparently, travelers can submit their form online on the official website or the app available on mobile phones. The Schengen area consists of 26 countries, including popular tourist destinations for travelers. Britain does not fall under the Schengen area which includes 26 countries, forcing travelers from the UK to follow the same rules as other residents of non-EU countries.

UK travelers must pay a fee to enter the EU

In addition, most of the EU countries that fall under the Schengen area category enjoy free movement within the European Union, with the exception of Ireland, Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania and Cyprus. According to the Schengen Visa Info website, the 26 Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland , Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The system is expected to launch on January 1, 2022, but it will become operational for travelers by the end of 2022.

According to the Schengen Visa Info website, a detailed security check of each applicant will be carried out under ETIAS to determine if the person can be allowed to enter any country in the Schengen area. According to Daily check-in Report, in some of the cases where further verification is required, the travel permit could take up to 30 days. The ETIAS travel authorization is mandatory and will be verified with travel documents when crossing the border.

(Image: AP / @ OSKARK / Unsplash / Representative)

Comments are closed.