Brexit effect: British travelers must pay a fee to enter the European Union


At the end of this year, UK citizens traveling to the European Union (EU) will have to pay additional fees on any travel. This is a consequence of the UK’s exit from the EU following Brexit and the free movement rule will change, reports the Daily Express.

Those traveling from the UK to any country in the EU under the Schengen Agreement will face additional fees and will be treated like any country outside the EU.

The European Commission has confirmed that UK residents will be charged a visa fee of around € 7 and will need to pre-register their details before they can enter any of the EU’s Schengen countries.

Visa fees will apply to travelers between the ages of 18 and 70 and must be completed through an official website or mobile app prior to any travel.

– Advertising –

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) currently allows residents of 61 non-EU countries to enter the Schengen area with prior authorization.

UK residents must present their passport when traveling within the EU, and this surcharge could have a minor impact on UK low cost and leisure operators Ryanair, Easyjet, TUI, Jet2 and the new low cost affiliate of British Airways, which seek to optimize their costs and offer tickets at competitive prices.


Comments are closed.